Blog 4

Before Thursday, I had never been to the Fulton Mall in downtown Fresno. I had no idea what it looked like and had only heard other people’s opinions about it, which were not the most positive outlooks. My usual expectations of a mall are a place full of energy, an abundance of places to shop, and plenty of people. The Fulton Mall was the complete opposite. I figured that the Fulton mall would be a place where there were a lot of individually owned businesses that didn’t have many customers, but they were places that could have potential if they gained more customers and recognition from other local businesses and community members. Only having heard of one of the businesses, which was Kocky’s Bar and Grill, I imagined that working with the businesses would be a ton of fun, a little bit of hard work, and a great experience.

As I walked from the parking lot of the mall, my first thoughts of seeing the venue were that the outside looked really nice. The waterfall structure and mini park were the first things that caught my eye and I tried to come up with reasons in my head of why I hadn’t heard of this place before. First off, the place seemed very abandoned to be called a mall. There weren’t too many appealing places that made me want to shop or buy anything and I could tell that we had a lot of work ahead of us if the Downtown Fresno Partnership wanted to bring more attention to the place.

When we finally got to the part of meeting our clients, I got a little more excited and curious. The owner of Jalisco’s Jewelers was very welcoming and nice. As a well-established business with multiple locations, they already had a good amount of marketing strategies like Facebook, local flyers, and a website, so I wondered if they really needed our help with the extra marketing and exposure. Jalisco’s also had a large range of other services which included, bill paying services, money transfers, money orders, and even links and resources for travel services. My concern is that the business has too many different sales options and with all the services, it may be hard to just focus on marketing that it’s a jewelry store.

As I have had time to think about the project, I realize that our MCJ 158S class was chosen to work on this for a reason. It will actually give us real hands on experience to make something more of these businesses. I’m eager to see what kind of potential my partner and I really have to make these businesses really appreciate and benefit from our service. The thing that I am looking forward to the most is the ending outcome. Will our work actually make a difference of the community’s opinion about the venue? And will the Fulton mall and all its little businesses eventually be highly recognized in the city of Fresno. I know that it won’t happen in one semester, but eventually I would like to recommend others to go there for their yearly, monthly, or weekly shopping fixes.

Leave a Reply

