Blog 2

As a writer I have always been very good at recognizing grammar mistakes, distinguishing correct word use, and using correct punctuation. This strength has always allowed me to get my point across in a clear manner when completing a writing assignment.
I fall weak when I am asked to explain more detail about a topic that I feel I have clearly explained without adding a lot of unnecessary information. When assigned a more lengthy assignment that requires me to be specific about one thing gets difficult because I find myself going off topic sometimes, although I eventually get back to the main point of the paper. I love when I am able to get my papers read and returned with comments and constructive criticism of what could be better, but the problem comes when I am asked to extend or further explain or elaborate on something that I feel was already done. I would also like to start expanding my vocabulary. Words in my papers can get repetitive sometimes.
Some of the strategies I use to turn in my best work is to proofread multiple times and make changes as many times I see fit before allowing someone else to go over it. I would also really like to add going to the writing center more often to another strategy.
The ultimate goal for me as a writer this semester is to receive a compliment from one of my 3 writing teachers stating that I am actually a good writer. I find it hard to compare my work to my peers, so I am very unsure of where my current skills stand compared to my equals. So my plan to reach this goal is making sure that I
go those extra steps in getting my papers proofread by others, expanding my vocabulary, intaking as much constructive criticism as possible and using the writing center at Fresno State .

Leave a Reply

