Blog 1

My name is Akyia Westley and I am a fourth year student at Fresno state majoring in Public Relations.
During this fall semester I will be taking 5 classes with a total of 15 units. Along with being a full time student, I also work on campus as an administrative assistant in one of the educational departments. While school and work consume most of my time, I am also making room in my schedule this semester to take on the role as Public Relations Coordinator of Black Students United, a nonprofit organization on the campus of Fresno State.
I have been involved with the organization since I entered college and I am overjoyed to have the position. Some of my goals with this opportunity are to implement lessons I have learned from my public relations classes. The biggest lesson I would like to carry out is to create a better brand for B.S.U. I want to accomplish this by reinforcing a beneficial vibe and energy within our community and organization, making sure that we reach out to members of our community by supporting them in their efforts, and setting a high standard for our members to abide by. Increasing membership and making sure our presence is known from a positive perspective around the Fresno State campus are other goals.
School, work, and being a board member of B.S.U. consume a lot of my time so I will have a million things to do each week. Thankfully, mankind created the iPad, along with icloud. Every meeting, assignment, and task that needs to be done is noted, organized and synced with other apple products I own such as my phone which I keep handy 24/7, So it is very helpful. Enough sleep, a balanced diet, and a few hours of personal time for myself a week also keep me sane.
I look forward to taking all my major classes and being involved on campus. This fall 2013 semester will be one of my busiest semesters yet, but I am very excited to see what’s in store.

Leave a Reply

